Havana Nights

Random fact about Gourmet Gab: I am half Cuban, half Norwegian/German/Irish. My dad was born in Cuba and immigrated to the United States with his family when he was five years old. I have grown up loving my Cuban culture that encompasses savory food, loud music, Salsa dancing, passionate people, and the beautiful Spanish language.

Yesterday I went home to see my family (ahem, do laundry for free and mooch leftovers…just kidding!) and my Dad and Uncle Tommy prepared a classic Cuban dish for dinner: “Fricase de pollo con arroz blanco y platanos maduros y ensalada de aguacate.”

Basically that can be translated as a chicken stew with potatoes (flavored with green peppers, onion, tomato sauce, and garlic), served with white rice, fried bananas (called plantains – a sweeter version of a typical banana), and avocados drizzled with olive oil.

Let me just put it simply: it was MUY DELICIOSO! The chicken was tender, juicy, and flavorful; the bananas were slightly crisp and candied; the avocados fresh and soft. All of the flavors were like a party in my mouth. Seriously.

Next time you drive by the restaurant Havana Cafe or are in Miami, Florida please stop and enjoy some traditional Cuban food. Actually better yet, hire the Rodiles Boys to cook up some authentic dishes! Salud y buen provecho!

Love food. Love self. Love life.

One thought on “Havana Nights

  1. I must say there is nothing more special than breaking bread at home w/ family….my younger brother Tommy took it to the next level…our amazing mother Maria Rosa who was a terrific cook and loved her native Cuban food is surely smiling from heaven….until the next Cuban throw down!!!

Leave a Reply

