Hot Cocoa and Buttered Toast

Several years ago when I was probably 12 or so, my mom and I made hot cocoa for dessert one night during the Christmas season. She told me about how when she was little she would dunk buttered toast into her hot cocoa. At first it sounded like a crazy idea to me, but after trying it I was surprised by how delicious it really was. Last night when I was craving hot cocoa I remembered that it would not be complete without a piece of buttered toast.

The toast acts like a sponge soaking up the rich, chocolately cocoa. The salty butter on the toast adds a dimension of savory contrast. The combination is perfect. Need I say more?

My mom and I did not use a specific recipe, so last night I found this Hershey’s Hot Cocoa recipe. It is simple and quick to make. With only a few ingredients and a few minutes you can make homemade hot cocoa for yourself. Pop some bread in the toaster and spread some butter on top. The key is to cut your toast at a diagonal so you have the perfect shape for dunking.

The holiday season is a time for traditions, new and old, but it is always important to hold on to the ones that mean the most. Gathering family members for a baking day, enjoying hot cocoa and toast, midnight mass and opening stocking stuffers on Christmas morning are a few that I will always treasure.

It’s always fun exchanging ideas and sharing memories with others, so I’d love to hear what your Christmas traditions are. Let’s talk about memories in the comment section below!

5 days until Christmas!

4 thoughts on “Hot Cocoa and Buttered Toast

    • Ohh that’s a great idea! I added a dash of cinnamon to the cocoa, so I can imagine how tasty cinnamon toast would be alongside! Looks like I’ll have to make it again tonight ;) I’m so glad you enjoy reading!

  1. Love the pictures and the secret of the triangle shape! When I was a wee tot, I had the best neighbor who was actually her grandkids Mimi. Fortunately for me, I got to have her as my very own Mimi. She would slave over the stove for as long as it took to fill us with buttered toast and cocoa. It was simply nirvana. Had I known then, I would never be able to duplicate this savory taste I would have interrogated her until it was seared in my brain. Your pictures look EXACTLY the same. Of course it was served in a melamine turquoise cup from the 60’s, on Formica and not granite and the hands to dunk were far smaller than the model you have used! But it looks very close to that priceless memory. But Mimi’s cocoa…that was the key to my experience! Her cocoa had more of a neutral flavor than sweet. It wasn’t hot chocolate (which is thick and syrupy and sweet) her cocoa was just perfectly salt/cocoa/milk/cream perhaps she scalded the milk? Maybe it was powdered milk or full fat milk or maybe she added butter to the milk? I just can’t duplicate her wonderful non syrup sweet cocoa that allowed the buttered toast to take center stage. Oh what I would give for one serving from that treasured woman in my life. No one made a bigger imprint in my life…and no taste has ever trumped that which was served from that little Formica kitchen set. Thanks for the great trip down memory lane.

  2. The pan Mom made the hot chocolate in was copper bottomed and the formica surrounding the electric inset was white flecked with gold bits.
    The bread was Wonder and the butter was Challenge.
    The melmac cup was pink.
    Mom was a tiny woman raised in the Midwest.

Leave a Reply

